top of page

Local Government

New Brighton, Pennsylvania is an incorporated Borough currently operating under the "weak mayor" form of Borough government. The Borough of New Brighton is divided into 5 wards with each ward having 2 elected council members. The mayor and tax collector are elected at large. Each council member is elected to 4 year overlapping terms. The mayor and tax collector also serve 4-year terms. Many other officials are appointed by Borough Council. The powers of Council are broad and extensive, covering virtually the whole range of urban municipal functions.


The Borough of New Brighton is a proud participant in the Beaver County Regional Council of Governments (BCRCOG).  The BCRCOG is a local government membership organization designed to foster cooperative efforts to resolve intermunicipal problems and issues, create opportunities for cost- effective shared services among municipalities, and otherwise formulate plans and strategies that are common and beneficial for all and regional in scope.


Valerie McElvy (D)

Term Expires 2025


Council President

Robert Hartwick (D - Third Ward)

Term Expires 2025


Council Vice President

John C. Ramer (D - First Ward)

Term Expires 2025

Council 7-22.jpg

Council Members

Appointed Officials

Julie Martin (D - Fifth Ward)

Term Expires 2025


Vacant Seat (First Ward)

Term Expires 2027


Carrie Lofaso (D - Fifth Ward)

Term Expires 2027

William Rizer (D - Second Ward)

Term Expires 2025

Richard Sheffield (D - Third Ward)

Term Expires 2027


Jay Glover (D - Fourth Ward)

Term Expires 2027

Donald Mittner (D - Fourth Ward)

Term Expires 2025


Robert Lizzi (D - Second Ward)

Term Expires 2027


Kenneth G. Fawcett

Borough Manager: 
Thomas J. Albanese

Assistant Borough Manager: 
Nicole Oliver

Borough Engineer:
Widmer Engineering, Inc.

Council members and staff can be reached by contacting the Borough Offices at (724) 846-1870 or by mail at 610 Third Avenue, New Brighton, PA 15066.

Borough Council meets the third Thursday of each month in Council Chambers at the New Brighton Borough Municipal Building.  All meetings are open to the public and public participation is encouraged and welcome.  Council sets time aside at the beginning of each meeting to receive input from the public and engage constituents on ongoing issues and concerns.


The Borough is an Equal Employment Employer and does not discriminate against any person in recruitment, selection for employment, training, promotion, retention, discipline, benefits, and conditions of work. or any other aspect of personnel administration because of political or religious opinions or affiliations or because of race, sex, national origin or other non-job related factors. In addition, the Borough does not discriminate because of age or physical disability unless specific age limits or physical abilities constitute genuine job requirements.


To administer employment and advancement opportunities to all persons, New Brighton Borough’s employment decisions are based on each individual’s performance, qualifications and abilities.  New Brighton Borough does not discriminate in employment opportunities or practices on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, or any other characteristic protected by law.  The Borough will make reasonable accommodations to qualified individuals with known disabilities.


New Brighton Borough’s adopted Equal Employment Opportunity policy covers all employment practices, including selection, job assignment, compensation, discipline, termination, and access to benefits and training.

bottom of page